New to Insurance

Elizabeth26

Hey all! I’m looking for advice.

I have worked the same job for 7 years, it’s retail, and I have worked my way up from the bottom. I am looking for a change and I’m currently studying for my life and health insurance license.

Here’s what I need to know...

If I get in with a company that offers a base pay will I make at lease $750 a week? (With persistence of course)

Is there somewhere I can get tips and tricks to pick up selling insurance faster?

What’s the best company to get in with if I do need the base pay?

What’s the hardest part starting out?

What’s something you wish someone would’ve told you before started?

My current job is only the 2nd job I’ve had and I’m terrified to make a career change but I need more money in my life, even if it’s rough in the beginning. Any advice will be appreciated!! Thanks!!

If you have developed a reasonable amount of personal skills via the retail world you might have the gift of gab needed to succeed. Your questions are good but challenging to answer with certainty. You need to research a lot before you commit to this industry. Most income generated by this profession is commission driven but some captive companies do provide a salary plus commission that is ongoing. Captives are not looked at favorably by those who have been both independent and captive but they do have a good reputation for training and competitiveness most of the time. Liberty Mutual comes to mind as a salary plus commission company for PC personal lines. They have improved their agent program over the past decade and do not fire their agents as much as they did 20 years ago.