New to Medicare and could use some pointers!

Andrew goldberg

Hello all, my name is Andrew and I’ve been a lurker for a while on the forums. I’m licensed in 47 states for life health and variable annuities. I’ve been doing health insurance for the past 8 years and now after the ACA open enrollment I have decided it’s time to make the switch to Medicare Supplements.

I am working under a great organization that provides the leads as cold calls and this is where I am really struggling.(waiting for my mailers to come back in) in my office there are about 40 other agents and some are extremely successful cold calling and submit more than 10 apps a week. This is only my second week and I’ve submitted one application. I know once I have the mailers it will be easier and that is where everyone seems to make the most money.

In the mean time what advice would you guys offer? I can’t seem to get past hello with any of these people I’m calling and it’s frustrating to no end!

I have been saying the following..

Hello John smith? My name is so and so calling about your upcoming enrollment into Medicare. The records show your going to be aging into Medicare in July, is that correct?

And that’s about as far as the call gets. I’m new to Medicare and don’t expect to get it right away but at the same time I hear people all around me on the same cold call leads saying the same or similar things having good success. I was hoping for some advice or maybe insight into a different way I can approach these people. I’ve done some digging around on the forums but can’t quite find the niche I’m looking for. Any advice helps!!

Andrew

Leads are now a cold calling list? Haha! They have you sold. And I’m pretty confident there are not other agents in your Office selling 10 apps a week cold calling. It’s not happening. They may be fudging their numbers.