New to Medicare

Buffalo28

Hello there everyone! I have 3 years experience in life and supplemental insurance. Have recently moved into the Medicare Advantage/Medsupp market. This is my first AEP and I'm really struggling. I knew it was a slow year in my market but I didn't think it would be this slow! Any advice? Thanks!

Hello there everyone! I have 3 years experience in life and supplemental insurance. Have recently moved into the Medicare Advantage/Medsupp market. This is my first AEP and I'm really struggling. I knew it was a slow year in my market but I didn't think it would be this slow! Any advice? Thanks!

How did you market this AEP?

Hi there. I suppose we didn't do much marketing, it was mostly some old company provided leads as well as a kiosk in a local pharmacy, and occasionally other events that my boss has run. They're trying to get us to focus on dual plans now because they are expanding in my area and everything else has been very slow. Thanks!

Hi there. I suppose we didn't do much marketing, it was mostly some old company provided leads as well as a kiosk in a local pharmacy, and occasionally other events that my boss has run. They're trying to get us to focus on dual plans now because they are expanding in my area and everything else has been very slow. Thanks!

Some people like duals. I personally can’t stand them.
My aep’s are busy from working my existing clients, referrals and this year I do a seminar for Wellcare once a week.
Kiosk usually don’t bring much biz imo and leads can be good if they are hitting the mail often and lots of boxes. .
But this is all for FL, I don’t know how your area is but I’d assume your AEP will get better as the years go on. Your phone won’t ring if you don’t have many clients.

yeah I am in upstate NY. Do you feel as though medicare is something you can do year round when you are new and don't really have a big book of business? Because I feel I will probably have to get a second job..