New to P&C-Tasked with Jumpstarting an Agency! HELP!

Hey all!

I am new to P&C and have been brought in to help jumpstart an existing agency and get things moving here! I have helped build up businesses in the past but, they were more in my areas of expertise. Insurance is a new world to me and I wanted to ask, what are good marketing efforts to use that would maximize ROI - We currently buy leads and they are not amazing (this was their practice before I came on board). How do you feel about Adwords, Facebook ads, best way to ramp up a facebook page, Email marketing, direct mailers etc.... What has worked for you and gave you the best ROI at your agency?!? Any help would be appreciated while I am getting my feet wet. I just need to get the phones ringing as much as possible and quickly so I can have more of a marketing budget to work with! Thank you everyone!

Its tough to pull this off if you don't have experience in the industry. Okay, any industry is hard to walk into without experience, but insurance works different then most, so previous experience in other areas doesn't translate well.

If I get a chance later today, I'll respond in more detail, but for now, understand that adwords and facebook ads are probably the biggest waste of dollars for an agency, especially if you are not tuned in on how to bid these for insurance. The big boys spend tons of money on these. The lead aggregators spend tons of money on these. This makes it very non-competitive for the individual agency to try to capture mindshare and real leads this way.

That said, the tried and true methods that work.... though nobody wants to do them anymore:

1. Telemarketing. Its tough, hard, lots of disconnected / wrong numbers, but with perseverance, this is the most cost effective way to get any sort of ROI. Smile and dial.