New to the business

michaelvega

I am new to the business and just started with Bankers Life & Casualty in Warren, OH. Management is great, I was in training last week from Monday to Thursday taught by a veteran agent which covered Prospecting, Warming Up, Fact Finding, Presenting and Closing I have also been training on there web based Bankers Learning Network and every Tuesday from 3 to 5 we have class in the office on new and existing products. I understand that in order to make it in the business the first year is critical which can make or break you. On Tuesdays and Fridays we are in the office cold calling using Gryphon and I am assuming the leads I am getting are from that system? My first day was last Friday and I set up 8 appointments which I went out with a field trainer (we split commisions). 5 of them were on Monday, we wrote one small life policy, 1 was on her way out the door, 1 I had the address wrong and the other two were hopeless. Until I build a clientele and begin to get refferals is this typically how it works (cold calling)? I have read that it takes a few years before you start to make good money (100k), is that realistic?