New to the Insurance Business and Need Some Advice!!

houndis1

Hello, everyone!! I'm new to the insurance business and need some advice. I've been scouring the internet for opportunities and have realized there are a lot of companies out there that seem to be good until you do some research. Can someone please give me some advice as to what to look for and what to watch out for when looking for an opportunity? If you have any recommendations that would help too. It seems most companies require you to purchase leads but at this point I really don't have any extra $$ for leads. I've heard there are good companies that provide leads at no cost but I'm having a hard time finding them.

Some of the companies I've looked at are: Acsia Partners (LTCFP), Modern Woodmen of America, Retireco, West Penn Life, Senior Life, Keator Group, Mortgage, Life, & Retirement Protection Group, Penn Mutual, Health Benefits Exchange. And, I have an interview with AXA Advisers tomorrow. Opinions on any of these are welcome...please!!!!!

I really need some direction and I thought this would be a good place to start. Thank you to anyone who helps!!!

Have a wonderful day!! :)

Though I just a newbie myself, I will throw out what I've see the pro's here suggest:

1. What type of insurance do you want to sell?

2. Captive or independent?

3. Do you have a mentor or other ins pro who you can pick their brain?

And most importantly, use the search function and read everything on this forum. Look at the forum about "Just getting started". Also read my one and only post (look in my post count for that). I received a wealth of great advice for an upcoming interview I have. Hope it helps and good luck!

Wow. You are ALL over the place.

Pick the best company to fit the kind of client profile you feel you would do well with.

You see, if you have 1 company that pays you 100%... and another pays you 50%... with just that information, you would pick the first company.