New York Life Compensation

f55c6

Expert
Hello,

I have a question regarding NY Life and how they service their policies. I have a 20 year old VUL policy that I've recently started adding extra cash to since I neglected this policy for years. I've called the NYLIAC service center for certain requests (in force illustrations & policy specific questions) and have been referred back to the selling agent.

I feel like I am a burden to the agent after all these years. Does an agent still get compensated after all these years for old VUL policies they've sold? Believe it or not, as a consumer I feel they should be as I do not want to be a burden to the agent. The older I get the more I realize a person's time is valuable. If he's compensated I won't hesitate making requests for multiple in-force illustrations and related questions.

Unfortunately I was never contacted by the agent in past 20 years to follow-up on what I did or did not do with the policy. In retrospect I wish the agent had contacted me every couple of years and offered me advice on what to DO and what NOT to do with this policy. Even so, I must say the agent has been very responsive to my recent requests and I'm completely satisfied. However, I'm personally hesitant to contact him and feel I might be a burden because he may not be getting compensated after all these years for the current work performed.

Hello,

I have a question regarding NY Life and how they service their policies. I have a 20 year old VUL policy that I've recently started adding extra cash to since I neglected this policy for years. I've called the NYLIAC service center for certain requests (in force illustrations & policy specific questions) and have been referred back to the selling agent.