Newbe questions

tommyk

Guru
100+ Post Club
Illinois
Hello:

After obtaining my license's, I have been bombarded with offers and really have more questions than answers. I am looking here for the veterans to show me the way.

I have seen offers for career agents and for independent agents...what is the difference and how does that effect the agent?

Sterling Health Plans..senior division is interesting...any comments on them?

Also, there is a company wanting to expand into the area I live in (central Illinois). Penn Treaty Network America Insurance co dba: United Insurance Group...another senior company.

Thank you for any advice.

I'm sure plenty of more seasoned individuals will come up with pearls of wisdom, but before they do, I'll say this: As a newbie, I think going captive for one of the older insurance companies (that varies from state to state) is the way to go. They will offer the training you need and that'll help you when you eventually go independent. And, as has been mentioned on this forum, you may also be able to draw a salary while you're getting up and running.

I'm sure plenty of more seasoned individuals will come up with pearls of wisdom, but before they do, I'll say this: As a newbie, I think going captive for one of the older insurance companies (that varies from state to state) is the way to go. They will offer the training you need and that'll help you when you eventually go independent. And, as has been mentioned on this forum, you may also be able to draw a salary while you're getting up and running.

I started captive and it was not a mistake. I probably wouldn't be where I am today if I hadn't.

I didn't know jack about insurance. I started and on day one I was given about two hours of training on how to fill out an app, handed a stack of applications and a voter registration list and told to "go get 'em". I did fairly good the first month, and better the second one.