Newbie - Independent or Captive? Start w/Life Insurance or other?

Beans

Hey all,
I'm brand new to insurance. I got licensed a year ago, but as someone on this forum pointed out, that's only a license to begin learning. I did construction full time, and just dropped down to 3 days a week now, because I really want to focus on getting insurance going. Construction will pay my bills while I get insurance running. So I have a couple questions...

1 - I've already been contracted with a broker company. I'll be focusing on life insurance sales - Mostly term. I've contracted THROUGH "said company" with a few life companies that "broker" works with. The problem that I have is that I'm starting to realize that those policies are very expensive. Not only have I had people TELL me that the prices are steep, but I've personally run test quotes online, and found that other comparable products are more than 40 to 50% less cost. Now, I'm a captive agent. I have no problem being captive, but I don't want to sell a product to my customers if I KNOW they can get it for a much lower price. I'm extremely honest, and I want my clients to trust me. But being a captive agent, I can’t offer them the best deal…not even close.

SO – I’ve got no problem leaving “broker”, but do I go independent and start signing myself up with a whole bunch of life companies? If so, what are the top 10 life companies to contract with? (I’m in California)

2 - I would LIKE to own my own book if possible. If I can't do that to start with, then that's no biggie. I'll work through someone else until I get the knowledge needed of the products etc.

SO – Again, do I just go Indy and sign up with those insurance companies? If I should NOT go Indy just yet, what company should I work with…what company will at least be able to offer the clients a “fair” market price? And I'll need training / support at least early on, so they'd need to be helpful in that area as well.