Newbie needs advice

ohioinsure

Hello all,

I currently work in a factory but got my license for life/health/annuities back in January. I haven't done anything with it since then as I was intending on working with my agent/advisor with whom I have my own personal life policy and IRA. Long story short, the training available was not at all what I had anticipated. Just a mentoring process. Of course one needs a mentor, but I would also like more formal training too.

So now I would like to look to other opportunities because I really want to get out of the factory!! The one thing that keeps me from jumping into the industry with both feet running is that I have 2 little ones (newborn and almost 2). I feel that I need to have the PPO from work until I can build enough of an income to get into my own policy or HSA. At the same time though, I feel like I really want to go full time into insurance so that I can have my FULL focus on insurance. So I'm trying to weigh my options as far as whether to work under an agent part-time or just go for it whole hog. I have received a few recruiting packs in the mail from a local agency representing MassMutual. I'm seriously considering that. Any advice? I'm in the Toledo, OH area and have both Ohio and Michigan licenses.

In my opinion having a mentor is more important than any formal training program. There are a lot of links on this board discuss this topic and I would read through those. John Savage was one of the Life Insurance industries all time greats. Although he is deceased he was from Toledo and his business is still there.

http://www.savageandassociates.com/agents/agentsframe.html

Oh yes, Savage & Associates. Definitely a big name here in Toledo, including Savage Hall at the University of Toledo.