Newbie Questions!

insurancesc

Expert
I am new to insurance. I have been looking at the different options to specialize in and I have come to no real conclusion as to which is best for me(if it is even possible to know without first trying). I have several questions concerning annuities. How difficult is it to get started selling annuities? What is a typical day like? It seems to me that you have to have a lot of contact with people who have six figures to move just to make a decent living. I live in Columbia, SC. Is it possible to find 20-30 people every year with $100,000+ to invest and then convince them to invest that money with a newbie in a city of approximately 200,000 people. And where is the best source of info when it comes to learning the ins and outs of the annuities business?

I know these are basic elementary questions and I apologize if this is not the place to ask them, but any help you can give is greatly appreciated.

When you say "selling annuities" do you mean fixed and fixed indexed annuities, or are you securities licensed and going to be selling variable annuities also?

Either way, it is absolutely possible to sell 20 - 30 six-figure contracts per year. But don't discount the smaller tickets (especially on fixed/indexed annuities)! They are usually easy to service, and can add up over time.

You would be surprised how often helping to move $10,000 for a client comes back to reward you with referrals to larger tickets or that the client did not tell you about that other 401K account sitting at XYZ for 100,000 or more.

There are a lot of people interested in no market risk. The are prime candidates for FIAs and FAs.

Initially I will be selling fixed and fixed indexed annuities. I am thinking about getting a securities license but servicing these accounts is a concern. It seems you will spend a lot of time watching over these accounts or hire a team to help you when/if my client list grows.