Newbie, Where Do I Begin?

swahid

Hello,

I am a stay at home mom. I am a Domestic Violence Survivor and I am living in a Domestic Women's Shelter with my two girls. I am returning to the workforce and I have five years call center experience and 6 months experience being a receptionist. I have no insurance experience. What is making me decide on a career insurance is that I am putting my resumes on every job search engine out there. The only companies that are responding back to me are insurance companies. I am getting responses from Farmers Insurance, American Income Life Insurance, Aflac, and American Insurance Organization. I am starting out and I don't have a lot of money for licensing, training, etc. I am needing companies that will work with me through training, licensing, and work/life balance to accommodate childcare. At this point, I feel that I am totally clueless on where to begin. Any help anyone could give me is high appreciated.

Sincerely,

Sharon

Sharon - It's great that you are trying to create a better life for your children. Some people choose to give up or give in. To keep it from getting too personal, I'll just say I can identify with your situation.

I'd like to speak to you directly, hopefully I can be of some assistance. Can you send me your email address so we can connect. What State are you currently in?

My suggestion would be to consider what and to whom you would want to sell in the insurance business. It will save you a lot of time and grief.

The companies contacting you are going to want to put you into a boilerplate sales channel where they control the product and the type of client/prospect you are going to work with. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it makes it tough if your natural niche does not fit their parameters.