Newbies Being Recruited by Colonial Life??

wthigo@cl12

Looking for answers and guidance. Was recently called andrecruited by a new year old Colonial Life agency for a "consulting"presentation/interview.
I have no sales or B2B experience at all and had only workedon the compliance side of an insurance company years ago. I was not looking tosell insurance in any way. They wanted me to proceed further. I agreed to takethe insurance classes, do some training, be objective and see if I was"ALL IN" to prospect, market, and appointment set, etc.
I took the insurance classes, did a few days of trainingwhich was interesting but everything seemed so vague, misleading and segmented.I was in a training room of 10 previous business owners and 2 women, me beingone of them. There were two female agents I saw on day 1 of training briefly whowould never look me in the eye or say a word.

It was the oddest and most uncomfortable situation I havebeen in a long time. I went with my gut and decided to pass on getting involvedwith CL because IMO there appears to be too many hurdles, road blocks and themost difficult thing to sell is "worksite products" unless you havemany group contacts and are friends with business owners.
CL may be a good company for those experienced in insuranceand enjoy jumping over hurdles and bouncing off walls to get to the owner forthe presentation but can anyone please tell me “why recruit newbies with noexperience”? Is it the sole purpose to just get anyone in the door interestedto see who or what they know for more leads and market their name? If so, it isnot very encouraging for the newbies who are interested in finding out moreabout insurance and what would be best for them to start with selling. I would think getting started with “needed”insurance products would be best. Where are the best places to go for the bestdirection, training, and guidance in Illinois?