Newby looking for advice

kpanghmc

Hi all,

I'm completely new to the insurance world and was hoping I could find some direction here. Some background info: I'm a 24 year old male and have a squeaky clean record (no health problems, no driving accidents, no smoking, no drugs, etc). I'm engaged to be married in a year and am the primary breadwinner in the house (I live with my fiance and her parents). I make $60,000 / year gross and my fiance and I are hoping to have children within the next 5 years or so.

I work at a very low-risk job (software development), but since my future in-laws do not have money (they lost it all to the communists during the Vietnam war) and I have to provide for the family, I want to get both term life insurance and long term disability insurance. My fiance is also interested in term life insurance. Here are a few questions I have:

1. Do insurance companies offer discounts if you get coverage along with a fiance? Or do you have to apply with a wife?
2. Do insurance companies offer discounts if you get both life and disability through them?
3. Any recommendations on some good insurance companies to check out?
4. How long of a term do I need on my life insurance plan? How much should I be covered for?
5. Are the ROP term life insurance plans a good purchase?

Any other advice is perfectly welcome. As you can probably tell, my insurance knowledge is lacking. Thank you in advance for your responses.

Welcome. It is always nice to see a well thought out request from someone who is being fiscally prudent.

1. There are no term discounts for having 2 term policies, heather with a wife, or otherwise. (If there are, they are not with competitive companies)
2.There are a few such programs, but those companies are not the bet priced for either one, so you will be better off with separate companies.