Non-Competes and Solicitation

I was wondering how a non-compete holds up in situations similar to the following and first I have to give everyone an idea of how I've always handled my clients. I am a fairly new agent and write about 80% commercial. I target high premium accounts. And, believe it or not, I am pretty close almost to the point of being "friends" with nearly all my clients. They all have my cell phone number and know they can call me anytime they like. As a matter-of-fact, it got to the point that none of them ever call the office I worked out of. - this was not my intent, it just worked out that way.

I have now let the captive agency I was with to go independent. I have a strict non-compete/non-solicit agreement which I have signed with a captive that you don't want to fool around with.

Here is my dilemma; Many of my clients are beginning to call my cell phone. Some of them with questions about their renewals and their premiums going up etc. I have told them to contact the agency and none of them are happy about this because they are used to dealing with me alone, any time they wish for whatever. Just last week one of my clients asked me to go to check out a house they were looking at buying before they made a final decision - these are the types of relationships I build with clients. When telling them they need to call the other agent at my former agency, they are not wanting to do so.