Not all COBRA has reinstatement if paid within grace period?

yorkriver1

Guru
1000 Post Club
Virginia
My client says the employer website states if premium is not paid by their deadline, which is day before last day of the month, the coverage lapses, and if paid within 14 days after, they "may" reinstate.

Not how the DOL/IRS rules read, but I am no expert. The reason for the cliff hanger is the client decided later in July to get other coverage 8/1 instead of the last date of their 18 months, 9/1. The other coverage is still in pending status.

Little confused by your post, but if I understand it, your client is currently covered by cobra, correct? If so, the premium is due on the 1rst, and is considered late if not received by end of month. If so, the plan becomes lapsed. Once past the lapse date the plan does not have to reinstate, so this employer seems willing to work with the employees.

My client says the employer website states if premium is not paid by their deadline, which is day before last day of the month, the coverage lapses, and if paid within 14 days after, they "may" reinstate.

Not how the DOL/IRS rules read, but I am no expert. The reason for the cliff hanger is the client decided later in July to get other coverage 8/1 instead of the last date of their 18 months, 9/1. The other coverage is still in pending status.

Not an agent, but a consumer who has dealt with a Cobra situation.