NWM, SENIOR College Student Looking for Some Advice

famous

Hello all,

I am trying to reach out today and get some much needed advice. I have been a shadow follower on this forum for some time and am happy to finally reach out.

let me give you a little background about myself. I am a senior Economics student at the University of Arkansas. I have taken classes in Life and Health, property and causality, and Risk management. I am well aware of the washout rate and hard work that it takes in reaching out to family in friends to sell certain products. My end goal is to start off in insurance and progress over into financial planning and investments.

My first question is in regards to Northwestern mutual. I currently live in Fayetteville Arkansas which in perspective is about 4 hours from Dallas. my girlfriend is a Junior here so I was thinking about sticking around and working for NWM before I transfer down to Dallas next May. - (I am currently in the final hiring process at NWM) I have 4 months until I graduate and the director that I spoke to explained to me that they want to have me get my series 6 and 63 licenses before I go to 3 week sells school in June; which I feel is a great added incentive.

Is NWM worth it, or should I try somewhere else? Should I stay in Fayetteville Arkansas for a year before transferring to Dallas or just try to find something down there now? If I do go to Dallas would someone like NYlife, Merrill lynch, etc. be better? Is anyone on this board currently located in Dallas that could offer a little insight. Sorry that the post is so long.

I don't believe we have any current career agents from NWM on the board. If you do a search, you may find some colorful posts about them in the past. I'd search for Northwestern Mutual in thread titles and take a look at those and think of how long ago they were.