Observations & Questions from a Hawaii Captive Moving to Maryland - Scratch/clusters/newbies?

First off I am a newbie so please bear with me. I have product knowledge from a captive producer standpoint but IA is foreign.

I am currently learning the trade through a successful Big Box agent in Hawaii. I make a good salary with, all things considered, good commissions. 1.5 years experience.

The end goal is to have financial freedom through an independent agency focusing on PNC. I am originally not from Hawaii and will be moving back to Maryland to plant my roots.

So....with that in mind please allow me to pick your brains :err:

My latest question that has come to mind is: What standard carriers are most competitive in MD/PA/DE/VA?

This question arises when considering Clusters/Aggregates/Alliances. These groups willingly post their carriers which you could have access to, but I'm at a loss because I don't know whose most competitive in Maryland.

Okay now, the second portion of my question is in regards to these Clusters. There is an huge amount of discussions on these forums which I've tried to sift through. I want to share with you my perspective from what I've read so far in the hopes to have someone point out holes in my understanding.

So..

Someone researching these Clusters will see a few dominant companies that keep popping up. SIAA, Smartchoice, Insurance Noodle, Superior Access....

SIAA - which seems great...to a point.
-They require upfront $. Great, no problem. I understand having some skin in the game.
-They have a great commission cut...profit sharing..awesome.
-The thing that hurts is that you have to lock in with them for like 15years, depending on your contract. And if you want to sell your book or get out of the agreement they take a nice bite out of you.
-Seems like alot depends on your local MA agency.