OH: Looking for new company to appoint with.

Indian Agent13

Hello everyone. I am new to the Insurance Forum and this would be my first post. I’m hoping questions like these are allowed?
My office is in serach of a well rounded P&C insurance company. We are in the process of leaving a contract with a carrier that was a very profitable P&C carrier for us for many years but since has decided to no longer write P&C. Just looking for some suggestions as to what carriers we should really be considering to bring into my business. Thanks!

Indian, are you a captive agency? Just curious why you only have had one carrier. As for who to contract with, much would have to do with your market. Acuity may not be a fit for you at all as they are pretty strict with age of buildings, and their personal lines pricing may not be that great in your market. But I'm not a price only agent and look more to ease of doing business with.

Hear great things about Erie!

State Auto is based in OH, have gone thru some drastic changes and today seem to have things working. Future is uncertain though, imo.

If your Indy, you should have a couple all lines carriers, and need the American Moderns, Foremost, and Progressives too for the oddball stuff.

You may also need to look to an Aggregator if you have trouble getting direct appointments. Unfortunate, but true.

Good Luck to you!

Yes, we are an independent agency. We carry approx. 8 different carriers. We have an appointment with State Auto and have seen the drastic changes they've made. We really only use them for Farm. We hear there could be more changes coming on that side.