Oh Lord It's Another Real Estate Person Infiltrating Insurance

Hi Insurance Forurm!
I have been thoroughly enjoying reading the posts and learning before I jump in. I still have a lot of questions but I also still have a lot of reading to do.

I am a REALTOR and I co-own a real estate brokerage. I am not looking to mix Real Estate with Insurance. Hence no Property and Casualty stuff for me. Nor I am looking to get out of REAL ESTATE. I am however looking to open up another revenue stream.

I am intrigued with the Senior Market. My mom who will be 68 this August was forced into retirement last August. In January we went to a Humana MarketPoint Enrollment meeting where she enrolled in the Humana Choice PPO w/o the Prescription Drug Coverage. (she could have gotten the RX coverage if enrolled during the inital enrollment period.) anyway it was all confusing for us and the 20 other people in the room. But me being the entrepreneur that I am saw Opportunity.

Most of my real estate clients who right now are all sellers and local doctors who are reluctant to buy anything right now (waiting for the deals they say) are either Seniors or the children of Seniors. I have built a good reputation in my area and think this will be lucrative market to break into. Plus, although I am a go getter I am by no means a Hard Salesperson. With Medicare Advantage and Supplementals the end user is usually adding on to Medicare Plan and have little to no out of pocket premium expenses. Plus they really want clarity and information and someone to help them.

Times are tough and regular health insurance is unaffordable. Hell, I don't even have it. I tell my doctor this "look give me the cash discount cause when I leave your office you can go straight to the grocery store, you don't have to wait for the EOB." She usually takes off $20. And praise God I have been quite healty.