On Farmers GL Policy - What is "Employment Practices Insurance Coverage"?

Hello,

This forum is a great resource, and thanks in advance for any responses you can provide.

I'm an indy agent in California. I've seen a couple of Farmers BOP's in the field that have a coverage listed on the dec page as "Employment Practices Insurance Coverage". The premium is "Included" in the BOP premium.

So, for instance, a Farmer's BOP I am looking at has a total premium of $659. The insured is under the impression that the Employment Practices Insurance Coverage is EPLI...could that be true at that price for a BOP and EPLI coverage?

Can anyone shed some light on what this is? There does not seem to be any mention in the full policy, except for an actual exclusion for "Employment Related Practices"

I am just trying to figure this out for my own personal knowledge.

Thanks

Last edited:
EPLI covers an employer for any negligence or discrimination such as any bias or sexual harassment remarks that he could be sued for (i.e."hey Cathy sweet ass today").

I don't know much about Farmers policies but I've seen some carriers include EPLI for as little as $35 w/ a $5000 deductible

Yes, If I remember correctly, it is included, but ONLY at about $25,000, so a very minimal amount.....

Use that to your advantage

Thanks for the above replies. I think that answers the question...its a lower limit EPL type coverage. For higher limits its my understanding the client would have to get something stand alone.

Cheers.

CCA

I have several EPLI markets. If you would like to see a sample EPLI quote and some sample claims just give me his zip code, gross receipts, and the number of employees that he he has and I will be happy to get you a sample stand alone quote. 25k of EPLI is a very low number when you read the statistics.

Golden Eagle and Sequoia include $100k in EPLI in their BOP. I believe AmTrust and LG (through Builders and Tradesmen) do as well.