Opinions About Allstate Exclusive Agent?

I saw an ad about becoming an Allstate exclusive agent and wondered what the "downside" is? I am interested in starting a PC agency and I am new to PC business. any comments?
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
actually just did another search of the forum.....WOW.....I think Im going to go ahead and SCRATCH the Allstate idea.....

Last edited:
FWIW, I'm not with Allstate nor have I looked too far into the opportunity. This is just what I've gathered from here and talking to Allstate agents.

You get all the downside of owning a business and all the upside of being an employee. You put up your money for the lease, build-out, equipment, staff, and marketing and Allstate owns the book of business. You are held captive to Allstate and their products, which is some locales may make you uncompetitive.

I understand you can still sell your book to an Allstate approved candidate, but that does severely restrict the pool of buyers and thus lower the price. Also, I have been told by one agent, they will fine him if his office isn't open by 9 am. They will actually drive by periodically to check this.

I think Allstate is a great name, and they certainly do a lot to make sure your potential clients know about them, but is what you get worth what you pay? Perhaps the only advantage of Allstate over State Farm is that they will let you own multiple offices, while it appears State Farm is strictly one office per agent. Also, I believe Allstate will accept more types of risks that State Farm, letting you write more business. That said, there is a great thread on here talking about how awful the State Farm opportunity has become.