Other Options Besides "Classic" Insurance?

Modelprisoner

Looking for advice from the pros and anyone , really.

I am an avid car hobbyist and do practically all my own wrenching.

The wife and I daily drive "classics", but none of them is particularly valuable.

She drives an '85 Mercedes 380SL and I rotate between a '91 VW Jetta diesel and an '82 VW Rabbit diesel pickup (long commute). These cars are on a normal liability (Progressive) policy. No issues there.

I also have a number of Triumphs and Mercedes diesels that are not nearly in show condition. Some of these are garaged, all are under cover, but in a carport. They run, more or less, but it's not like I can jump in any one of them and get it going.

I have Classic insurance for some, but my insurance company is giving me trouble about adding additional vehicles, wanting photos of the new car, it, inside the garage etc.
I really am only looking for liability insurance on most of the "fleet". Are there any other options for "limited use" vehicles? I feel like the cars I have as "classics" really aren't. I don't want to spend the money or time making them pretty as much as making them roadworthy at this point.

Last edited:
For just liability, can you add them to your progressive policy? You only need 'classic' car insurance if the car has value, with only liability, that is a non-issue.

Any classic car insurance will want photos, if not a complete appraisal, just the way it works. And yes, it doesn't have to be a great photo, just one that shows any existing major damage. I usually recommend at least 4, one from each corner of the car.

Dan

If I insure them under Progressive they will want ~$300/ea/yr. I have ~10 cars- That's $3K.

7 of them haven't left the property in years.