Outsider looking Insurance as a career

T A

Hi I am new and would like to introduce myself, I am seriously considering changing my career and going into insurance sales. My question for everyone here is why am I reading the majority of people selling Life and Health and very few property and casualty or is that just the threads that are mainly discussed? I have read many interesting post but this question always pops up in my head, and since I am going into the field I want to make sure it's the right one. Thanks to you all, so many intelligent people on here and I respect everyone's input.

BTW: My background is retail sales (cell phones, had up to 5 locations at 1 point.(I thought it was sucessful but time to move on)

T A

I have been a P & C agent for 13 years and it is a great business. One of the big difference is in contracting. If you want to be an independent agent, it is relatively easy to get contracted with quality companies in the L & H biz. Not so in the P & C business. If you have no book of business, you are more than likely going to have to start with a captive, Nationwide, Farmers, Allstate, State Farm, etc.

The other option is to work for a large independent agency which will give you leads & training, but you won't own your book. Overall, the P & C market is soft right now. This could be different on your area. If you end up pursuing a captive, the first place I would go is the existing agents offices. Talk to them to see what is going on at the company.

If you want to PM me, I can give you more information. Thanks

Insurance is not like anything else. You are asking people to part with a portion of their money today in exchange for a promise to pay in the future.

A promise that may never come to pass.