P&C Agent Considering Becoming a Partner, Seeking Advice.

DTM

Hi,

I am looking for some words of wisdom from experienced agents on how to go about becoming a partner. Here is my situation:

I am an independent insurance agent. I have been working at my current agency for 3 years. My total experience in insurance industry is 4 years. My track record with sales of P&C lines is consistent. I have a solid business plan that I am successfully implementing. I am very much involved in the local community and have built a strong network with other business owners/professionals.

My boss will be in a position to retire in 10-15 years. His family members are not involved in insurance business at all. I would like to be in a position to take over the agency when the time comes, but I feel like I have to start laying the ground work now and try to become a partner within the next few years.

Here are my questions:

How do I go about starting this conversation with my boss?

If you are an agency owner, what specific characteristics does your producer have to be considered as a business partner?

If anyone has success stories on how they or someone they know became a partner please share it.

Thank you so much in advance for your time!

Last edited:
You are thinking right, first make yourself the top saleman. If it is a small agency you have a better chance. I would start mentioning it to the owner, about you wanting a bigger role in the agency? If he blows you off, start planning to go indy.

why a partner, buy him out when he retires

Thank you for your input! I don't think there will be a shortage of buyers for the agency if it gets put on the market. If I am a partner I have a better chance to succeed in buying him out.

You are thinking right, first make yourself the top saleman. If it is a small agency you have a better chance. I would start mentioning it to the owner, about you wanting a bigger role in the agency? If he blows you off, start planning to go indy.