P&c Commissions and Renewals

playball41

Expert
So I am a new agent that has been searching for a year for a place to hang my hat started out by looking at captives then figured out by reading on here that Indy was the place to go so finally found a small Indy that has brought me on board I must say I am beating 90 percent of the brand name companies I am quoting . This guy is giving me 85% which I think is fair I have a network of about 600 plus people of which I will be bringing him over the next couple years but he states that I will get all my renewals (85%) until I quit. My question is shouldn't I tell him I expect my renewals for life or put another way tha I should be vested from day one? What is the standard?

So I am a new agent that has been searching for a year for a place to hang my hat started out by looking at captives then figured out by reading on here that Indy was the place to go so finally found a small Indy that has brought me on board I must say I am beating 90 percent of the brand name companies I am quoting . This guy is giving me 85% which I think is fair I have a network of about 600 plus people of which I will be bringing him over the next couple years but he states that I will get all my renewals (85%) until I quit. My question is shouldn't I tell him I expect my renewals for life or put another way tha I should be vested from day one? What is the standard?

Standard arrangement is when you quit, so does your compensation. If you're good, you might get some vesting but it is certainly not for life.
Be thankful. 85% is certainly not standard. You're getting a great deal. I'm not sure how the agency is making any money on that unless you are handling ALL service and get no support at all, and your business is profitable enough to make some $$$ on profit sharing. Some clusters don't even give that good of a split.