P&C or Health?

GoingIndy

Expert
Good afternoon folks,

This thread is simple...

P&C or Health and why?

What are the pros and cons to each. I'm currently contemplating them both and need a push towards one or the other as I am undecided on which to pursue.

I have 6 years experience on the P&C side but know very little about the Health side.

Thanks in advance.

well, the majority of people insure their things before they insure themselves. How hard a road do you want?

Funny!
---------------------------
From what I understand about P&C, it's a difficult LOB to go indy on, however, since you have 6 years with P&C, you might have no difficulty.

As long as you learn the mechanics of health, the startup is smooth.

If I did health it would be in NY and the focus would be on businesses, not individuals. Does that change anyone's opinion?

P&C worries me because of the CAT exposure. Because insurance companies are claiming the "Big One" is due to hit Long Island soon, companies are pulling their homeowner market off the table... for now.

Ah the "Big One". Good thing I moved out of NY last year. I guess I was being proactive.

Why can't you sell both? I owned a Bar in Bethpage and a single storefront was $5K/mo. Are you going to sell P&C out of a brick and mortar? Will cost money. If you can sell online with P&C, why not do that? You could get licensed in another State then, save rent money, put into leads and sell both LOB's. Group plans take forever, IFP is fast and easy. If you are going to sell group, then f2f would be your mode of business. Eitherway, IFP or Group, NY needs coverage. GHI, Empire, Guardian Health Net, Aetna, etc.

Last edited: