Paramedical Examiner

G

Hi,
I was wondering if any agents had advice for a paramedical examiner thinking about going direct with my own agents. What does an agent look for in a paramedical examiner? Any tips? I have 4 years experience & used to train examiners when I was an employee but now work independently with the Big Paramed companies in Orlando, FL. I have a couple of nurses that are interested in hooking up with me to cover different areas of Central FLorida.

Thanks for any advice.

Nicole West
[email protected]

Last edited by a moderator:
For me, rule number one is whoever the carrier has the contract with. If I get past that, the other things I look for are:

- Online ordering
- Beyond outstanding status updates, i.e., emailed when customer is contacted, when services are scheduled, if I can't schedule them directly, when services are completed, etc.
- Did I mention direct bill to the carrier?

Most parameds I have used have been excellent, so it's hard to say that when a client requests a butterfly needle to draw blood, that the paramed brings one, since they tend to take care of the clients. I've been lucky in this area, since not everyone makes the same statement, but I follow up with my clients after the paramed visit to make sure things went well. Most people are impressed.

I write most of my life policies at 8:00 at night or so. Not sure why this happens, but it does. Being able to order the paramed at 10:00 at night is wonderful. Being able to schedule it while I'm with the client is even better, since it saves a huge pain in the butt step of getting everyone in touch to get it scheduled.

I have no idea how you get setup with the carriers. To me, that is the crucial step.

Dan

Hi,