Passed My State Insurance Exam

wfs

Guru
100+ Post Club
I passed my life and health state exam today, just in time! My goal was to get this done by the end of 2008.

Now it's time to get all of my ducks in a row for the new year and shine!

My initial battle plan is as follows:

1) Get my appointments with my primary carriers, E&O insurance
2) Get licensed in 5 states - PA (my home state), NV, CA, NJ and TX.
3) Work from internet leads for life insurance
4) Build a local practice through my contacts

I have a well-paying full-time gig (I am an IT consultant for a major pharma company) so replacing that income first year will be incredibly difficult, so...

I will "work for free" for my first year at a minimum. What I mean by that is that I will save all (or most) of the money that I can make. I realistically believe that I can make at least $50k in 2009, but we shall see... That will be a challenge, but as a person who used to be in the biz (9 yrs+ ago), I know exactly what I am getting into.

Initially, I am prepared to invest $2k per month in exclusive leads. Hopefully that will be enough to jump start my sales.

I'd love to hear any advice or words of wisdom.

Thanks and happy new year!
:goofy:

Re: Passed My State Exam

Congratulations! Sounds liked you have things well thought out and are prepared. Work your plan and it is a recipe for success.

Re: Passed My State Exam

Thanks. This business is the only thing that I've ever been passionate about and I am anxious to get started!

You might think about making your first investment into insurance sales training before you waste money on leads. You'll likely spend a great deal more learning to sell on your own than by paying someone to teach you.

Rick

Congrats wfs... You met your goal by years end.