PD Limits Question from a Professional

INSUREGEEK

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Ohio
So, I have 20+ years experience in insurance, but I need help with an unusual claims scenario:

I am in SW Ohio which is pretty much the heroin capital of the US as far as I know. My parked and unoccupied vehicle was taken out by someone who OD'd on something (assume it was heroin - the Narcan woke him up!) and took out my car and several others in the process.

I do not carry collision on this car. I do get to carry UMPD here, and I am surely covered there even if it can at times be difficult to prove and collect. The vehicle that hit mine was owned by someone with verified insurance coverage, but I am unsure of the PD limits available. The OD driver was her boyfriend.

My 2004 Chevy will definitely be a total loss, as will at least 2-3 other cars that were hit. According to the accident reconstruction team, my car was the first one hit. But here's the rub.......

When sorting a monster Auto PD claim with insufficient limits - how is it determined who gets paid what? Assume state minimum of 25K. How is that limit divvied up?

The car that got hit first?
The cars that didn't have collision or UMPD?
The first claimant to get thru to a claims rep?
What am I up against in collecting a UMPD claim?

Any advice or input is appreciated.

PS - The guy got revived with Narcan....refused medical treatment...is currently in jail. It will be 48 hours before I see a police report.

Happy Halloween to me :1tongue:

Sorry to hear that - bad surprise any day of the year.
It's been 9 years since I was in the law firm world, and I'm sure Ohio might have some differences from SC, but I've seen it handled a couple of ways, that I can recall:

Policy limits distributed in proportion to the loss sustained by each party

Preference given to the party least able to tolerate loss for lack of uim

Your results, of course, may vary.

Hope all goes smoothly.

Thank you!