Pennsylvania P&C

mmike160

Guru
100+ Post Club
PA
I'm in the process of getting my P&C license. I'm going get my E&O through E&O for Less, as it's the best price I've seen.

I know getting appointed from the get go, is one of the tricky parts to P&C. Wholesalers have been discussed to death, but I was curious what other PA Indy P&C Agents might recommend?

Insurance Noodle or Superior Access or any others I should look at?

I plan on only focusing on personal lines initially (until I get my feet wet)...

Thanks for any advice...

Maybe you could try new companies who are hungry for agents...hallmark, mercury, research the pa ins dept. site and see who's new in the state

I was checking out Progressive, looks like they may appointed me. After a ton of time researching these wholesalers, they all mostly look like junk, except SIAA. Throwing 10k at them, so I can borrow their contracts doesn't feel advisable.

I've been selling life and health lines for the past 3 years and all I think I really need is one good P&C carrier (to start off with). I like Progressive's visibility in the industry, hopefully their rates are competitive too... Plus based on their broker website, looks like I would qualify for appointment:
  1. Be a licensed agent/agency in good standing with the Department of Insurance in the state where you plan to write business.
  2. Have an active agency Errors & Omissions (E&O) policy with minimum aggregate limits of $300,000.
  3. Pass Progressive's criminal background investigation.
We'll see what happens...
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Maybe you could try new companies who are hungry for agents...hallmark, mercury, research the pa ins dept. site and see who's new in the state

I like your website, Dan... Looks good...

Last edited: