Personal Injury Claim.. Help!! :(

kbeck

Hello,
I am new to this fourm. I need your help. In March I was driving home from work and had a small collision with a motorcycle. We were at a stoplight and I thought he had taken off, his bike was the same color as my car...everyone else went but him. I hit him maybe going 3 mph.. we didn't go past the white line of the interection. The driver did not come off his bike but did lean forward. I do realize that I am at fault. My insurance only covers up to $25,000 of injury. He is trying to claim $100,000 in injuries. I'm not denying that he got hurt.. my question is what happens to the difference of $75k? Will my insurance company fight it or will they come after me for money? I am a 20 year old single mom with a 4 year old. I live on my own.. I don't have this kind of money.. I can't even afford for my insurance to go up, and thats if they don't drop me. What do I do? I don't make enough money to have my wages taken from me.. or even to hire a lawyer.

What are the chances of the driver settling for 25k?

Please.. any help.

Insurance will cover the attorney.

I just got off my motorcycle and am very biased. There is no excuse to hit a motorcycle. Personally I think they should take your license for a year, but again, I'm biased and I very much doubt that has any chance of happening.

Just let your insurance handle it.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Also, raise your liability limits.

Last edited:
I didn't mean to hit him, I had my son in the car. Sorry you feel that way. I take full responsibility for my accident. He also wasn't wearing a helmet.

It depends.

What were his real injuries based on the accident? This is what you are responsible for. He can ask for whatever he wants, doesn't mean he gets it (sort of like your 4 year old).

I'm not sure what state you are in, and there are different rules in different states, but in general......