Please Help Me! New to the Industry

JohnC

Hello, I have been reading the forums and find a lot of useful information here and hope somebody can help me. I am new to the industry - totally new. I am currently looking for a job. Currently hold the 440 and am waiting to take the state exam for the 215.
I have knocked on a few doors looking for employment and a few of the agents have told me "Why don't you just go independent with your 215? Grab a list, make some phone calls, get appointments"
Am I missing something? Are they oversimplifying the process or am I over-complicating the process in my head?
Just a little background, I am in Miami, not afraid to knock on doors, make phone calls etc. Should I go this route (without experience) or should I go work for an agency?
What would be the Pro's and Con's
P.S. This forum is full of knowledgeable agents with a lot of info and experience. Please Help.
:err:

What were your thoughts when you decided to get your license in the first place?

What line of insurance were you looking to get into?
- Life & Health?
- Property & Casualty?
- Employee Benefits?
- Retirement & Financial Planning?
- Final Expense & Medicare Supplements?

It'll be easier to give you ideas and advice once we know which direction you see yourself heading in.

DHK, you seem to be pretty knowledgable and experienced in the industry. What would you recommend for a new agent getting in retirement and financial planning, I totally see the need for this. Especially with so many people not having a clue, is there a training program or classes you can take to further your education in this field. Would you recommend the insurance pro shop? They have training set of disc you can buy, is this a good way to go, are they a reputable training site with the right education tools? Thanks FDML, another new agent.

DHK