Policy Question (Current Student)

easleyjr96

Hi everybody,

I am currently a full time student and live on campus at a large university. Because of this, I am not able to keep my car on campus. This means that I am not able to drive my car every month, but I would like to be able to drive it while I am on breaks. For example, the month of December or the month of March and during the summer. I also don't want to pay the top dollar bill each month while I'm at school, especially given that I'm not even driving the car.

Previously I had put a storage policy on the vehicle, and making that switch took my monthly bill from $88 to $27. This was a huge relief for me because making the monthly $88 payment was really stressful. I switched back to my normal policy for the month of December, but it went up to $98. I wasn't too worried about it at first, cause I figured it would only be for the month of January and February. When I called to have it switched back to the storage policy, the new monthly payment was $52. This is a HUGE jump from the $27 I was paying before. I couldn't understand why, and I asked the lady at the insurance company, but she didn't do a very good job of explaining it to me. She said it had something to do with how the premiums pro-rate.

So what I am looking for is an answer to how my policy almost doubled in price, and what are some of my options to keep my bill down for the months that I am not even able to drive the car, while still having the flexibility to drive it for the months that I wish. Thanks for any explanations and help.

Also, I insure through USAA/Liberty Mutual.

I don't write for either of those companies, so I can't tell you.

Try calling them back and asking a different person. Enough tries and you're bound to get a knowledgeable call-center employee... Eventually... Hopefully...

Sucks not having an agent.