Post Cards Vs. Targeted Calling List?

melvinmills

Gentlemen,

I am trying to determine the best way to go.

I have seen a postcard mailing campaign that will send out
x number of mailing each month for 3 months, to the same
list.

They say on the low end one can expect 0.25% response.

The list is targeted geographically and by age and income, nothing
else. These people have not requested information.

Next, I see companies that get names when people request information
on annuities online. This is a much more targeted lead but they
can be much more expensive too.

I have no experience with either kind of marketing so I would greatly
appreciate anyone who has some ideas that I can consider before
making a move.

I think you are asking mailing vs cold calling.

Cold calling is cheaper and more effective, since you can feel the client out right away.

Mailing is more expensive and the response depends on your copy piece, how narrow your target is, xdates, etc....

But targetted anything will give you a better response.

Why not do both?

Do you have any another source of income in addition to what you may earn from your annuity marketing campaign? If not, I would strongly urge you to go back to the drawing board and look at other products as a lead in to find and cross sell annuity prospects.

My FMO built a microsite and managed a PPC campaign for me that generated annuity leads for around $100 a piece. After 5 leads came in without generating any business, I decided to cut that operation. I later met an agent that was doing very well buying internet leads for $200 a piece, but said that he did spend a couple of grand before he generated any business, I just don't have the stomach to keep spending without the results.

Gentlemen,

I am trying to determine the best way to go.

I have seen a postcard mailing campaign that will send out
x number of mailing each month for 3 months, to the same
list.

They say on the low end one can expect 0.25% response.