Pre-Existing Conditions

macungieman

Can someone tell me if there is there some middle ground (insurance products) that exists for treatment of pre-existing conditions between group coverage paid for by employers (where the group pool covers most everything) and individual policies where god forbid you have a wart or something and it is excluded.

In my case I have a outpatient procedure that I would like to undergo that costs a few grand I guess but is excluded by current individual policy. Short of changing jobs and getting group coverage (I am self employed for the time being) is there some middle ground.

Would it be foolish to go the cash option anyways.
It might be as simple as expected and get costly in a hurry.
I am new to this subject so forgive my ignorance (if applicable).

Pre Existing Conditions

john

can you explain briefly how group plans differ than ind plans. Are group plans paid by employers much more expensive ? I was laid off a while back and was offered Cobra but declined (under the circumstances wished I hadn't). Yes the plan was more costly but not so much so when compared to the treatment (things they will cover) which is so different from one plan to the other.

you probably have better things to do but I am just curious.

Thx

Group carriers are required to cover pre-ex as long as you have creditable coverage. If you are a new employee and lack creditable coverage they can make you wait (usually 12 months) before you have full coverage.

HMO's are the exception. Full & immediate coverage.

Individual plans vary from state to state & carrier to carrier, but it is not as bad as you let on.

Pre Existing Conditions

Thx Somarco

Might there be any helpful PA Producers on the board willing to answer questions to my particular situation, most of which is unrelated to my pre-existing dilemma?