Prospecting Question

JKBcommercialagent

Hey Everybody, I am a commercial agent out of Arkansas. I have a general question that I would love your feedback on. The question is; how many hours a week do you spend prospecting? And what I mean by prospecting is taking a lead (either off a leads list or the phone book) and researching about that company or business before or after you cold call them. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
JKB

Very little.

Unless you are going after big paydays from that one client I wouldn't spend much time researching them.

What kind of businesses are you going after?

Very little.

Unless you are going after big paydays from that one client I wouldn't spend much time researching them.

What kind of businesses are you going after?
Our markets are light manufacturing, contractors, restaurants, auto repair/ dealers...etc.
If you do not do research before, you are just calling and hoping that the person you speak to is the contact needed? Also, and I should have asked this in the original question, where do you currently get leads from if you are targeting a particular industry?

Welcome aboard, glad to have another razorback here. I try to spend a couple of hours per week prospecting to 401k plan sponsors.

I cull certain industries and competitors off of my list, but after that the best way to turn a cold list into a warm list is to call them and get the skinny i.e., who the decision maker is, are they already working with their brother in law, etc..

Thank you! Yeah, p&c can be rough in Arkansas, nobody wants to change haha. Currently I target by what we have competitive markets for, but I spend so much time going through google searches, manta...etc to build prospect lists it gets rough.