Prospective Independent Broker

aspapi

Good Morning Everyone,

I am a new Illinois Producer with all lines of insurance looking to go out on my own.

I would like to start off with P & C and I need some help with approaching carriers to broker insurance for them, what is the procedure and is there a list of carriers in Illinois who would consider a new producer as a broker.

I am not looking to sign up for an agency contract at this time as I intend to remain Independent.

Also, what are the most affordable and user friendly Agency Management Software out there?

If there is a start-up checklist somewhere in the forum, I would appreciate a link to it.

Thanks.

Last edited:
What is the difference between an insurance agent and an insurance broker? As best i can tell if you are an independent agent, does that not make you a broker?

What is the difference between an insurance agent and an insurance broker? As best i can tell if you are an independent agent, does that not make you a broker?

As I understand it, an Insurance Agent is a Producer who represents one carrier as a Captive Agent and sells the insurance company's products and may not represent another at the same time depending on the company e.g. State Farm, All State or American Family.

A Broker on the other hand is a Producer who does not have an agency contract with any one particular carrier but may be appointed by many to submit business. e.g. AON, Marsh USA, Willis of Illinois etc. Also the Broker represents the client first.

There is a thread addressing the distinction titled "Independent vs Broker". Do a search. I can't post links at this time.

Last edited: