Providers and Insurance Advice

sshafran

Guru
1000 Post Club
NC
Just venting a little bit here...

In central OH we have a "strong" local captive mapd program that local doctors / hospitals push.

It got me thinking today (after not making a sale) - why can doctors, hospitals, etc. recommend (or push) insurance plans without an insurance license?

When you are talking to a prospect, and the prospect's doctor recommends the mapd, it's pretty hard to change their mind even if the med supp you are offering is better, your breath doesn't smell bad, and you are patient and professional in answering questions.

I don't know. I don't give medical advice because I'm not a doctor. I don't see why these doctors constantly tell their patients which mapd plan to pick. Seems like it would be non-compliant to do so... and yes, I'd love to stick it to some of these doctors.

Probably some kind of exemption. Much like the crap the carriers get away with that you and I can't because of CMS rules.

When Atlanta had a hospital owned MA plan (Piedmont) they promoted it heavily direct to the public. Can't say if the hospital and their docs pushed it as well but I suspect they did. It was an HMO model, closed panel type, so my guess is everyone had a chance to get a piece of the pie.

When the plan rolled out anyone with any knowledge of the market could see it was benefit rich compared to other plans.

In other words, underpriced, although that may not be the correct term when discussing a plan that does not carry a premium.

The plan lasted 2 years and was overwhelmingly popular. So much so they lost their butt and closed up before the 3rd enrollment.

Amazing how many people and companies think they can move into a market and undercut the competition but still make money. Their perception of excess profits by the established players leads them to believe they can go in with slimmer margins and still make a ton of money.