Purchasing an Existing P&C Agency

superteke

I have an opportunity to purchase a business friend of mine's P&C agency that has been operating for 3 years. It needs new blood to grow it because he has another agency that he is the sole owner of and more focused with. It is turning only a small profit from what we have talked about. My question is what would be the rule of thumb to use when talking about how much I should purchase this agency for? I see a few things that I have read 1-2 times the gross revenue. Is this correct? I have 3 years experience from the captive side and this would be independent which is what I would choose to do. What are some things that I should look for in the books or questions to ask in aquiring this agency? Thank you for any input!

Gross written premium, agency's retention, number of carriers, types of carriers (preferred etc.), and the amount of growth over the years are a decent start.

I think the agency is normally valued by 2-5 times the agency's commissions but don't know if that is a hard rule.

I think the agency is normally valued by 2-5 times the agency's commissions but don't know if that is a hard rule.

That is a VERY high number. 1.5-3 is more like it. Also depends on the type of agency. If it's a small indy shop that is barely turning a profit then I don't see the attraction; you'd most likely be better suited working under a larger shop.