Question About Getting Incorporated

napoleon83

I just got into the insurance business. I am appointed with Aflac. So far I am finding it difficult but I want to do this as a career and have my own agency. I plan to be appointed with several companies. I want to do p&c and life/health. I am wanting to start my own agency and get incorporated.
My question is in regards to getting my business license. Once I do get incorporated (s corp or c corp) will I my self get appointed with different companies or will I have to get appointed under my business name and tax id number.
When it comes to E&O insurance will I personally need the insurance or will I have to get it under the business name?
I am still new to this whole thing and trying to learn as much as I can. Thanks for all the help.

Learn to sell and forget this incorporation business license stuff for now. You do not need it to be appointed.

One way to really complicate your life at this stage is to get incorporated. First you would need to obtain a state insurance license in your corporation name, if you truly want to be appointed as an entity with the various carriers. This costs money, takes time, and there are forms to fill out. It would be important to check with your state DOI first, to confirm the requirements.

Then, with many carriers, you will end up completing two contracts. One for personal, one for corporation. They will probably give you two agent numbers, and you will get two of everything in the mail.

It is also important to consider tax filings, far more complex, and something you probably would need to hire a CPA to help with. Not just at tax time, but on a year round basis.

One more issue is if you plan to sell in more than one state. If so, you would need to research corporation/entity licensing rules in any states that you plan to focus on. Some states make it easy, and in comes states, it is very expensive, and complicated.