Question on FMM and LUTC

wolfe42

Expert
Hello,

I am new in the business and was wondering what the benefits of being a graduate of FMM and LUTC would be. What would it contribute to my business?

Thank You
D.Wolfe

The "FMM designation" isn't an accredited credential at all. It is simply a certificate of completion for attending the Insurance Pro Shop's in-person training.

While I do recommend the training, but I don't recommend promoting it like a designation. It's one of the very few things I don't like about them. (The other seems to be spelling issues on some of their materials. It's minor, but I am rather analytical.)

Conversely, for getting started in life insurance and annuities, I think the LUTCF program could be a good start. It was revamped and relaunched with the College for Financial Planning. You would have to be a member of NAIFA in order to receive it. Kind of costly for getting started. Some firms will reimburse for completing either the LUTCF or FSCP.

The main advantage of LUTCF or the FSCP below is that you're supposed to be developing selling skills WHILE learning some basic technical skills. Taking these courses should help you increase your production.

LUTCF® or Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow

There's another one you can consider: FSCP from The American College. It's very similar to LUTCF, but you don't have to be a NAIFA member to earn it.

Academics - Insurance Education - FSCP - Financial Services Certified Professional - The American College

I took the "Essentials of Business Insurance" a few years ago. If I was completely new, it would be good. But I had been around for a while, and it felt like I could teach the course.

There is another COMPLETE resource to check out: The Virtual Assistant.