Question Regarding Series 6, 63, 7 and 66. New Agent Plz Haalp

insurance_Tycoon

Ok so i just got my life/health license. I want to get my securities now. I was wondering which one i should get. I got offered to be sponsored for the 6 and 63 but i am 21 years old and i know you cant deal with stocks or bonds or anything like that without the series 7. I am still very new to the whole industry. Should i try to find someone to sponsor my series 7 and 66 rather than the 6 and 63 or just roll with the 6 and 63 for now and go back and get the 7 and 66 later on. Being that I am very young i think that the younger generation is a lot more interested in stocks and bonds. Anything that involves making money faster at a greater risk.

My impressions are that the younger generation is seeing how the crash of 2008 has affected their parents and grandparent's retirement, so they would want to conserve whatever they have.

As far as licensing... if you can be sponsored for the 7/66, that would be the best way to go, IMO.

However, it may not be up to you. I wouldn't worry about it. Even if you're sponsored for only the 6/63 at first. Add the series 65 later. After you've done some production, add the Series 7.

Just get started and get going.

A series 7 sounds great till you end up in court. Then your a ss will be handed to you. If you get a chance, look over a securities E&O policy.

I decided to park my 6 almost two years ago because the BD I was with wanted everybody to pay for 7 E&O coverage, which is expensive and provides really, no coverage at all. It wasn't cost/risk effective to continue on with it.

What's honestly nice about a 6 is the legal limitations it places on a RR. You simply can't do the things that get most 7's into trouble with because you aren't allowed to by law. You simply can't get into the trouble you can with a 7. And understand you don't have to commit illegal acts to get your a ss sued and lose.