Rand Paul Compares Universal Health Care to Slavery

Crabcake Johnny

Guru
5000 Post Club
Maryland
Not much of a story here except this guy just cranked up the crazy. Slavery?

"With regard to the idea of whether you have a right to health care, you have realize what that implies,” the senator said. “It’s not an abstraction. I’m a physician. That means you have a right to come to my house and conscript me.”
“It means you believe in slavery,” Paul added. “It means that you’re going to enslave not only me, but the janitor at my hospital, the person who cleans my office, the assistants who work in my office, the nurses.”
“Basically, once you imply a belief in a right to someone’s services — do you have a right to plumbing? Do you have a right to water? Do you have right to food? — you’re basically saying you believe in slavery.”"

Rand Paul Compares Health Care To Slavery | News One

Crazy but in essence it is true. If you have a "right" to a good or service that you have to get from someone else, then I guess they don't have the right to not perform the service you have a right to, so that would make them a slave, right? Or maybe I should say, correct or I will get my use of the word "right" mixed up!

I just read what a wrote and it sounds crazy too! Maybe we are ALL just crazy!

The word "right" is difficult. We have the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Now...

Do I have "right" to local police protection? Technically not. Does someone who rents an apartment (ei: doesn't pay property taxes) have a right to the same police protection? How 'bout someone without a job who pays nothing into the system. Same right to police protection?

I'm not sure this is the proper parallel but I'm not sure I'd compare my local police force to slaves. However, since a cop is told to go to a call and if he doesn't follow that order he can be fired, are cops slaves? Please.