Reasonable Producer Compensation for Life

L5tc

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I've been an independent producer in NY for 10 years. The general agency I work with are family friends so frankly I've never questioned compensation. For the most part I'm getting paid between 45-55% on the term. I see much higher numbers bounced around here. They're a big help to me as far as last minute illustrations
some other sales back-up stuff. However there also very proprietary on illustrative software.

Is that reasonable compensation? Like I said I seem to see higher numbers here but perhaps I'm looking at it wrong?

Any help with this I would appreciate.

I've been an independent producer in NY for 10 years. The general agency I work with are family friends so frankly I've never questioned compensation. For the most part I'm getting paid between 45-55% on the term. I see much higher numbers bounced around here. They're a big help to me as far as last minute illustrations
some other sales back-up stuff. However there also very proprietary on illustrative software.

Is that reasonable compensation? Like I said I seem to see higher numbers here but perhaps I'm looking at it wrong?

Any help with this I would appreciate.

I do not sell in NY. But from what I hear NY comp is lower than the rest of the nation. Talk to Tahoe Ray here on the forum. He runs a GA that has a NY office and can tell you what the street comp is in NY for various carriers. If you are not getting street then the GA better be providing LOTS of support that is above and beyond the norm.