Reasons for chargebacks?

OneMorePolicy

Expert
I'm a rookie in California, passed the state exam, awaiting license#, became interested in selling MA, especially Secure Horizons'. After reading some posts in this forum, looks like chargebacks occur frequently. I'm trying to find out from those who had chargebacks why they did come back so I can try to avoid that situation altogether. Thanks for any constructive input.

I'm a rookie in California, passed the state exam, awaiting license#, became interested in selling MA, especially Secure Horizons'. After reading some posts in this forum, looks like chargebacks occur frequently. I'm trying to find out from those who had chargebacks why they did come back so I can try to avoid that situation altogether. Thanks for any constructive input.

In the interest of full disclosure, I do not participate in the senior market.

A friend of mine who does the MA thing tells me it's not at all uncommon for seniors to attend the free lunch meetings (it'a actually a sport here in the Sunshine State, especially this time of year) and sign up for a different one at each stop! I would imagine that would lead to chargebacks.

I don't know what Shoney's does the other 46 weeks of the year....

Chargebacks should not be a problem because unless the person is dual eligible, they can only change plans bascially once a year (there are a few exceptions).

Send me a PM if you'd like information on contracting with them.

Rick

Most charge backs are because the agent sold the prospect something they didn't need or couldn't afford. Agents using high pressure techniques are the ones who get the most charge backs.

The other reason is that the agent didn't know the product very well and failed to point out the important benefits of the policy.

Agents should use logic in their explanation of the policy, not the hype and scare tactics that a lot of agents are taught to use.