Referral Bonus

lisacrowe

Hello. I am new to the insurance business. The agency I work for offers incentive bonuses to dealerships that refer their customers for quotes. My question is how do I find out what is standard cost for bonuses in my area? The salesman at the dealerships are becoming very greedy, I think, and I am trying to make it fair across the board. Also, how do I know if giving a gift card, or cash, or a check requiring a W-9 be filled out is appropriate? This seems like it is a very tricky area to be in, and I have searched online for ANY information, and cannot find a thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Lisa

Hello. I am new to the insurance business. The agency I work for offers incentive bonuses to dealerships that refer their customers for quotes. My question is how do I find out what is standard cost for bonuses in my area? The salesman at the dealerships are becoming very greedy, I think, and I am trying to make it fair across the board. Also, how do I know if giving a gift card, or cash, or a check requiring a W-9 be filled out is appropriate? This seems like it is a very tricky area to be in, and I have searched online for ANY information, and cannot find a thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Lisa

Lisa

Last edited by a moderator:
Lisa, why don't you just ask one of the sales people you are giving a bonus to what they are receiving from your competitors?

You may need to 1099 someone if you pay them too much in a year.

We have asked many salesman, but their answers are basically..."much more than you guys pay" or "$100.00 per lead" kind of thing. They really don't want to tell us the truth, I'm thinking. and I have not been able to find an actual competitor willing to share.