Roll Up Debt & High Commissions-not what it seems?

Sylver Gallardo

Hello.
I am new to the life broker insurance industry. I got contracted with Family First Life in the beginning of the year. Everything seemed great at first, but I have come to find out things I wish were disclosed to me prior. 1) commissions aren’t as high as they seem. Even at a 125% commission, a carrier only pays out 100% until you reach your quota. 2) roll up debt. My question is if anyone here is building an agency and is acquiring this agent roll up debt simultaneously. It’s very hard for me to wrap my head around having perfect credit to owing money because of people who leave the industry and get charge backs they don’t pay off. I mean, imagine going into something with no debt and now you have debt. And I’m sure it’s bound to happen as your agency grows. Idk if I should ask if that’s something that you have to deal with and you just roll with the punches or if this is not okay.
As I’m reflecting on what I really want, I think I just want to do my own thing and not build an agency, but they really sell you on building one.
Another thing I’d like to mention and ask if it’s normal to get a lot of wrong numbers, wrong addresses, and people who never requested info on life insurance. I feel the lead crm sells multiples of the same leads. For example, the instant internet leads go into the cherry picked 1 month leads and then to the 3 month. So essentially, I end up buying the same lead on several different occasions. I figure, just buy the older ones, but they really push those instants. It seems like in a mater of a couple of weeks, they go old. I can’t help but think that the company benefits somehow from the purchases of those leads.