Salary if Taking Over Existing Book - New -Agent

paiste13

I have been approached about applying for the State Farm Approved Candidate program. There is an agency with about 1.4 million in premiums they need someone to take over. The recruiter mentioned a signing bonus as well as paid training.

Now, I am a smart person but completely ignorant about insurance, but was wondering what the general salary/commission is on this size book of business? I have a graduate degree unrelated to finance but truly enjoy talking about finance (I consider it a hobby). I am just over 30, married, no kids, and currently earn about 60K plus benefits in an unrelated, yet boring, job. Would it be worthwhile to pursue this or should I not waste my time? Can anyone give me simple numbers?

One thing about insurance that interests me is the ability to run for public office since I wouldn't have "set" hours.

Thanks a lot!

There isn't really a standard salary. You could probably make more money as a state farm agent because you'd be able to grow the book, but you're also at the mercy of their rates. If you like what you're doing now, I'd stay with it. If you're looking for a way out, this might be a good option.

Ask them about the commission structure, there are too many variables on that for us to give you an idea of what you could expect to be making.

Definatly ask about the commission structure. From what I hear the commission is variable so if your not hitting your numbers your commissions go down while still having the same overhead and service work.

I have been approached about applying for the State Farm Approved Candidate program. There is an agency with about 1.4 million in premiums they need someone to take over. The recruiter mentioned a signing bonus as well as paid training.