Sell health & cross sell life - could a nightmare happen?

Crabcake Johnny

Guru
5000 Post Club
Maryland
Everytime I try to talk myself into cross-selling more life with my health clients I try to figure out what would happen in this "worst case scenario."

You're sitting with a client and sell him health. You also talk about life and write up an life app - schedule the paramed.

The health app is clean, no pre-ex conditions and it gets approved in a few days. Policy issued. The paramed pops by a few days later and about a week later results are in - extremely high cholesterol. Whether or not the the client accepts the table rating for life is irravelent.

Client receives his health insurance packet on Monday and Tuesday it's off to the doctor because of his high cholesterol.

Any takers on what happens to his health coverage?

Hmmmm... I am new at this - but I can guess.... it would be a NO GO. Recind???

Here's a question John, Couldn't you get him his health policy, then when you check in with him - talk about life/cross-sell? I mean - at that point, the heatlh policy is issued, he didn't know he had High Cholset., so he wouldn't have been lying. Would would happen in this situation.

I would always wait at least a month or so, unless they had NO coverage at all and were in need of life coverage.

I've heard of this happening many times John, people applying for both life and health at the same time, finding something out in the paramed and getting declined or rated up extra for it.

No thanks to that.

If a life app is filled out first the health insurance company could request a copy of the paramed results. This is happened to me before without me even knowing about it. It's quite rate, but I've put an app in for health insurance then I get an open requirement. I call and it popped on the MIB that the client recently applied for life and now they want all the results of the exam.

Denied and rescinded.